LG Electronics Tone+ HBS-730 Bluetooth Headset – Retail Packaging – Black Reviews

  • Low Price Guarantee
  • Free Super Saver Shipping
  • One-Day Shipping

LG Electronics Tone+ HBS-730 Bluetooth Headset – Retail Packaging – Black

LG Electronics Tone+ HBS-730 Bluetooth Headset - Retail Packaging - Black

  • LG Tone+ delivers enhanced audio and bass response and a host of calling features in a sleek, comfortable design
  • Built in apt-X technology reproduces CD quality sound over a Bluetooth connection
  • 10 hours of listening/15 hours of talk time provide all day connectivity
  • Text Message reading through LG’s BT reader Application for Android OS
  • Unique, around the neck, wearing style provides all day comfort and ease of use

The LG Tone+ (HBS-730) Wireless Stereo Headset delivers a high quality audio experience in stereo sound with the convenience of Bluetooth technology. Up to 15 hours of talk time and 10 hours of listening time keep you connected socially and musically while at home, at the office or on the go. Music and phone conversations sound better with enhanced audio and bass response that compliment a wide range of music genres. Built in apt-X technology reproduces CD quality sound over a Bluetooth connection when Tone+ is paired with a source device, i.e. smartphone or laptop, that can support it. Wear the LG Tone+ all day without realizing you have it on with its unique around-the-neck wearing style form factor and sleek design. Enjoy an active lifestyle with the convenience of the LG Tone+. A vibration will alert you of incoming calls and with the intuitive controls located on the neck strap, you can navigate between voice calls and music without having to touch your handset. Stay on top of you

List Price: $ 79.99

Price: $ 52.55

Belkin BST300 SurgePlus 3-Outlet Mini Travel Swivel Charger Surge Protector with Dual USB Ports (2.1 AMP / 10 Watt)

Belkin BST300 SurgePlus 3-Outlet Mini Travel Swivel Charger Surge Protector with Dual USB Ports (2.1 AMP / 10 Watt)

  • 900 Joule energy rating provides superior power protection for all your sensitive mobile devices
  • 2 powered USB ports (2.1 AMP combined) for charging your tablets, smartphones, and other mobile devices
  • Wall-mountable for 3 extra AC outlets without extra cords
  • 360-degree rotating plug with 4 locking positions for a compact, lightweight design
  • Damage-resistant housing protects circuits from fire, impact or rust, and prevents dents and scratches

Surge Protection Wherever You Go Add outlets and peace of mind on business trips and vacations with the Belkin 3-Outlet Mini Surge Protector. Plug it into any wall outlet for extra outlets without extra cords. The 360-degree swivel feature makes it easy to fit in small spaces. Two powered USB Ports offer convenient one-source charging for your mobile devices. Safeguard Your Devices Voltage fluctuations, surges and spikes can damage your computer and peripherals and degrade overall performance. Belkin’s Wall Mount Surge Protector safeguards your personal computer, printer, hard drives, modems and other hard-to-replace equipment against damage, data loss, file corruption and system crashes. Powered USB ports are intended solely for charging devices. They cannot be used as a USB hub and they do not transmit data.

List Price: $ 29.99

Price: $ 29.99

Originally posted 2015-06-04 05:33:41. Republished by Blog Post Promoter

  • Other Recommendations
  • Best Selling Products
  • Product Reviews

6 thoughts on “LG Electronics Tone+ HBS-730 Bluetooth Headset – Retail Packaging – Black Reviews

  1. 440 of 448 people found the following review helpful
    3.0 out of 5 stars
    Nearly a Home Run, October 6, 2012
    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: LG Electronics Tone+ HBS-730 Bluetooth Headset – Retail Packaging – Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)

    I own both the 700 and 730 models. I purchased the 700 3 weeks ago and used it extensively. I love the 700. The sound is not stellar, but it isn’t totally crappy. The sound lacks depth, like the difference between AM sound and FM sound, though not as extreme. The sound also distorts on the loud end. However, it worked great.

    The 730 has a few extra features that make it better, like the voice battery status and other messages. The sound is much better. The sound quality now rivals mid-tier phones that would please the average user who likes bass and mostly clear sound. It’s full sound, but not audiophile quality. I am no audiophile and do have mild-medium hearing loss. I hate total flat response, anyway, even if it is “pure.” I like good clean sound with a little extra nice, tight bass. Compared to my Bose QC15s, this is not too far off. I’d say this is pretty darn good for BT headphones. This would be worth the upgrade hands down if not for one big flaw.

    The range of this is far inferior to the 700 I own. It drops out sound and makes it choppy after 10 feet. With the 700, I can be 2 stories down, 20 feet away, and choppiness is minimal. Not so with 730. Just turning my back to my phone from 10 feet away and sound drops. Knowing the battery life is a little better on the 730s, it makes me wonder if LG didn’t simply reduce the BT radio power for more efficiency? I hope not. I was perfectly fine with the battery life of the 700s. That’s just speculation, but the radio performance between the two headsets is huge.

    What I love about BT headsets is the freedom I have to leave my phone down and do things. With the 700, I had this freedom with OK, but nothing special sound. With the 730, I have great sound with good bass, but can’t go more than 5-10 feet without having annoying drops in sound.

    Which one to send back?

    Update 9 OCT 2012:
    I really love the sound improvement over the 700. I find I am using the 730 all the time and have modified my behavior in order to prevent the dropped sound. One thing to note is that these in ear phones are comfortable, but are so because they don’t jam all they way in the ear. There is a little more air that gets in. In the office or at home, no issue, sound and bass is great. While driving in the car, I lose a lot of bass and have to turn it up more and stuff them tighter in the ear. It is still a clearer, more open sound.

    Based on the few comments left, I will be calling LG to see if my unit is defective.

    I also want to note that the color difference where the buds attach is much better. The silver color is less obnoxious. I tend to be more conservative in dress and don’t like loud colors that scream, “look at me.”

    I do wish the wires were a more flexible as the stiffness causes them to stick out. Thankfully, the wires are very thin and most people won’t notice them from a distance.

    I also wish the magnets were a little stronger. It’s easy to knock them out of the holder area.

    In spite of these other little points, I still think this is the best BT headset I’ve ever had. The biggest advantage is that they are “there.” With my past headsets, once they are out of the ear, I kept losing them all the time. Not so with these. It’s also way better for listening to music, way better. I also like that when it’s loud, I can put both buds in and actually hear the conversation I am having.

    Update NOV 27 2012:
    I ended up keeping both. I’m using the 730 less and just starting going back to the 700 because of the better range. The big reason for this is because the 730 began dropping out in the middle of a longer phone conversation. This was getting very annoying, especially with my 35 minute each way drive to and from work. I’d have to scramble to turn on the speakerphone. All it took was a shut off and turn back on to make it connect, but this is not good. It does this even being fully charged. I wanted to send back the 730, but with my busy schedule, I unfortunately missed the deadline.

    With the latest problem, I can’t recommend these. Short range for music is one thing – it won’t matter in certain situations. Drops during calls is a deal killer for me.

    I am also finding the magnets to be more of an issue, though more a minor annoyance. I tuck everything in under my collar and fish out the ear buds by pulling on the wire. I’d rather just go to where it is supposed to be seated. This is true of both 700 and 730.

    UPDATE 19 FEB 2013:
    After several more months of use, I almost exclusively use the 700s while the 730 sits collecting dust. Why? The only major advantage the 730s has, with its range issue, is the sound quality. So, if it’s just going to be headphones, I’d rather use good headphones. That’s what I’ve done – first with the V-Moda M-100 (which include a mic, a great portable headphone with really good sound) and now…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. 85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
    1.0 out of 5 stars
    Great Sound but useless if it keeps cutting in and out!, November 14, 2012
    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: LG Electronics Tone+ HBS-730 Bluetooth Headset – Retail Packaging – Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)

    I generally do not review products but I was compelled to write a review about this one mainly because it is such a good headset and yet fails in the basic bluetooth function. I bought one, returned it and bought a second one that I will return soon.

    In this review I will analyze the entire product name and you will get a good idea of what to expect. This product is called “LG Electronics Tone+ HBS-730 Bluetooth Headset – Retail Packaging – Black”. Here is my review of each portion of this title (not in order):

    Headset: The music and phone sound is REALLY great (even when biking). I struggled a bit with the ear piece sizes as I run, bike, and workout with these on. I finally settled for the smallest size but it still slips out once I start sweating or if it is raining/misting – not that big a deal when I am running but REALLY annoying when I am biking. The controls are accessible but not very easy to find when you are biking in the winter with gloves. The fit is pretty comfortable and I don’t feel it for the most part. It even hides inside my collar (with a little bulge). When not hidden, it looks like something out of stat trek.

    Bluetooth: WOW – how could LG MESS this up so badly. The headset cuts out on a regular basis (every few mins). I can’t put the phone in the back pocket (think biking, running). I can’t hold the phone the “wrong way”. I can’t walk more than a few feet away from the phone (10 ft). All these were NOT an issue with my MOTOROKR S9-HD.

    LG Electronics: I called and talk to the LG customer (twice). They were not very helpful. Both times they insisted that they have NEVER heard of this problem. I even asked them to go and look at all the reviews on Amazon and other sites as well as the note that Amazon had on their site about this product being under review due to excessive returns. But they just asked me to send it into LG at my own expense. I told them “No, I would rather return it for a replacement and then LG can deal with Amazon”. But they would not acknowledge that there is a problem and blamed my iphone, HTC phone, and iPad. REALLY bad customer service.

    Tone+ HBS-730: I tried my friends HBS-700 and it did NOT have ANY of the problems that this one has. Bluetooth works exactly as you would expect. No problems on bike or run with the HBS-700!

    Retail Packaging: Contains headset, 3 sizes of ear buds, power supply, and manual

    Black: Yup – I can confirm, its black!

    After all this I have gone through 2 of them and had to return them. I am tempted to order another one just to see if the same problems persists. If nothing else it may force LG to take some action if they see so many returns from so many customers.

    1/3/13 UPDATE: I ended up returning the second one and bought a third one (also from Amazon) and tested it out for a month to see if I could root cause the issues. This one holds the connection better than the other two (but still far worse than my Motorola S9-10 – both in terms of distance from phone and placement of the phone).

    What I did find is that the problems with connectivity get worse as the battery hits “medium” power. Sometimes it will be connected playing music for 30-40 mins with the phone sitting right in front of me at my desk and then suddenly start skipping and dropping the connection even though I have not moved at all.

    The other thing I wanted to comment on is that the ear gels don’t really stay in during bike rides or runs. I have tried all three pairs that came with it but no luck.

    Unfortunately, I will have to return this set also. I may try the Motorola S11-HD (although it is >2x the price).

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. 165 of 178 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Nice Upgrades, September 28, 2012
    By 
    ErinW26

    This review is from: LG Electronics Tone+ HBS-730 Bluetooth Headset – Retail Packaging – Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)

    I was asked to try out the LG TONE+ stereo headset. I have the previous version of the LG TONE and enjoyed that one but this one has really nice updates. The first one I noticed was a call clarity has gotten even better. The previous one was good too but this one is exceptional. I also like the fact that when you turn it on there is an automated voice telling you that the power is on and the battery level. This is nice when you are driving and you have it on your neck and flip the switch that you do not have to look to see whether the power is on or off. There is also the capability to have it speak to you your incoming text messages, and voice activated dialing. It is comfortable to wear and I had no problems pairing the Bluetooth to my phone. I use it at the gym when I am exercising and have no problems with it. I can’t wear it running however since it bounces around but its perfect for the elliptical and weight training. The ear bubs that were on it were too big for my ears but it comes with three different sizes so it wasn’t a problem to switch it out.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. 388 of 401 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Not so MINI, but a good surge product overall., November 16, 2008
    By 
    R. Ocampo “Artisan” (North America) –
    (VINE VOICE)
      
    (REAL NAME)
      

    I’ve been searching for a product that can extend the outlet on my bathroom for the electrical products that I use. I finally came across this Belkin mini surge protector and features:

    – 3 AC power outlets
    – 2 USB outlets ONLY for charging (not data transfer) at 5V / 500mA at each port
    – Surge protection on all 5 outlets
    – 918 Joules Energy Dissipation
    – 125V / 15A / 1,875W Continuous Duty Electrical Rating
    – 36,000A Maximum Spike Current
    – Lifetime Warranty on product
    – USD75,0000.00 connected equipment warranty
    – 360 degree rotating plug lockable into 4 possible positions

    Simple, elegant design in a smooth plastic casing of white and light grey colour. Once plugged, the green LED light will indicate if the power source is grounded.

    The box comes with one USB to mini-USB cable to get you started in charging your USB devices as well.

    DO NOT throw the prong cover that initially comes attached to the surge protector prong. As the manual states (for those who still care to read the User Manual these days), you can use this plastic prong cover to help further balance the device against any surface. You do this by inserting the plastic prong cover on the bottom of the surge device via a small notch. Also, the plastic cover is handy to use when traveling. Before dumping the surge protector along with your other devices, cover the prongs to prevent it from scratching other objects.

    The prongs can be rotated 360 degrees loosely. However, there are 4 positions that enable you to lock it so it doesn’t flail along clumsily in any direction. You do this by pressing into the rear a “release button”. It’s not a raised button, but a flat plastic portion that you have to press hard in order to release the lock. It’s quite difficult (at least with the model I received) at first and feels like I’m going to break the plastic button. But I guess if this is normal then it can be construed as a safety measure so it doesn’t easily rotate with a simple touch.

    IMPROVEMENTS:

    The term “mini” is subjective. It isn’t really that compact as I would assume from seeing the photo. It is small, yes. However, as a surge protector that can take 3 AC and 2 USB outlets, I will give Belkin the benefit of naming it a mini device.

    I would STRONGLY prefer the re-design of the spacing on the AC outlets by allowing larger plugs connected side-by-side. As it is right now, only normal AC plugs and not block-style plugs are allowed without loosing all three outlets. So my proposal is to delete the middle AC outlet and move it to the end-cap of the device (opposite to the 2 USB outlets). As of now, there is nothing there so rather than cramp the 3 AC plugs, then move the third at the end and thus allowing for block-style plugs to be used and still retaining the 3 AC functionality.

    OVERALL:

    I would not hesitate to recommend the purchase of this surge protection for compact spaces as well as travel purposes especially with the lifetime warranty and amount of protection is offers.

    Take note of the selling price Amazon and the others are selling this at. It’s ridiculous to see the selling price of this exact device can range anywhere from USD10 to USD30.

    Lastly, BE AWARE of the SPECS so you know if the USB device you are plugging is capable of being charged.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  5. 334 of 368 people found the following review helpful
    2.0 out of 5 stars
    USB output too low, June 13, 2010

    To get directly to this items flaw… It cannot recharge/power more than one USB item at a time. So what’s the point in having two USB outputs?
    The 120V outlets work as advertised. The ability to rotate the prongs is a plus as it can be adjusted to most if not all outlets.
    The USB power fails if more than one item at a time is plugged into the surge protector. Even if, say your phone is fully charged, if you go to connect another item to run or charge, the surge protector will not supply the power that both items demand. The items that are connected will act as if they have been disconnected from their power source, then once the surge protector accumulates enough power(not certain, but seem to act as if there are capacitors)to start supplying power once again the items connected to the USB ports start to operate briefly until the surge protector cannot supply enough power for the two items.
    As stated before, it will supply ONE item with power, without a problem. But will not supply enough power for two, even if one item is fully charged.

    ** Thank you Jeff Backe, I’ve been putting off editing this post in response to all the people saying that ‘500mA is the standard’ for quite some time. This 500mA WAS the standard well before i made this purchase. The newer standard for wall chargers, which I believe this falls under, has been out since around mid 2007. This new specification UP TO 1800mA(1.8A) per port.
    When I made my purchase there also weren’t the nice pictures the show you the current rates. So there really wasn’t any way for me to know this until I received it.
    Another thing, this item is rated at 500mA(.5mA) per port but is not actually limited to 500mA at the port if you only plug in one item. In other words, the way this item is configured it will actually put out the full 1000mA(1A)through one port, hence the reason you can plug in a high current draw device using one port. But when you plug in that second item the 1000mA is now split in half or however much each device is trying to draw. It is only able to keep up with this high demand for a short while until its capacitors are drained and cuts off supplying power, then quickly recharges the capacitors and re-establishes the supply of power once again. I doubt this cycling can’t be good for either device.
    **edited

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  6. 114 of 124 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Nothing Mini about it, August 7, 2008
    By 
    Nameless Faceless User (Holbrook, NY USA) –

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

    Nice hotel room companion for plugging in the laptop, cell phone, iPod, and iPhone when you only have one outlet. The 5v outputs are regulated very well. It’s quite a bit larger than it appears in the photograph as well as modestly heavy. Calling it ‘mini’ is deceptive. It’s also rated up to 125v so forget using it anywhere except North America (not mentioned in the technical specs). Otherwise, it’s built sturdy as a brick and will endure any punishment your travels may inflict upon it.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Share your experience about this product